Blessedsacrament Catholic Church in India

Blessed Sacrament Scholasticate, Pune, MAH




catholic church

However, major shift was made in the beginning of the academic year 2013-2014 to Papal Seminary where two buildings adjacent to the Papal Seminary were given for the scholastics due to the increase of the number of the scholastics thus leading to lack of space and facilities in the Dhobicot-Laundry. This arrangement lasted only one year: 2013-2014. For the same reason of increase of students in the Papal Seminary, the fathers in the Seminary asked to find another place for the SSS Scholasticate. Thus the Scholasticate was moved from there. It was back again to the Dhobicot-Laundry at the end of March 2014.

Realizing that the permission to begin the new building delayed and enormous difficulties in shifting the Scholasticate Jesuit fathers in consultation with SSS province came forward to pull down the Dhobicot-Laundry and put up new structure in the same venue for the Scholasticate. Thus today the Scholasticate runs in the Jesuit building with total number of 20 scholastics studying both Philosophy and Theology. It has given 7 priests ( Frs. Joel, Sesu, Bharathi, Devan, Dhanam, Metha, and Ramesh to the province from the land of Pune.

Indeed the joy of having new Scholasticate came true in 9th December 2014, when Rev. Fr. Jegaraj the New Provincial along with his new team officially blessed the land and inaugurated the ground breaking ceremony in the presence of Rev. Fr. Keith SJ the Rector of Jesuit Community and Rev. Fr. Vincent Crasta SJ the Registrar of JDV and campus fathers and sisters. The present Scholasticate Community consists of Rev. Fr. Sebastian SSS as the superior and treasurer and Rev. Fr. Joseph SSS as the new director of Scholastics in the place of Fr. Erasto who was transferred to Mumbai in November 2014. The total strength of community is 20: 17 scholastics and 3 fathers.

3rd Year Theologians

Bro.Sebastian. S

Bro.Joseph Thambi

Bro.Vinay Joseph

Bro.Suresh Velpula

2nd year Theologians

Bro.Arokia Inbaraj

Bro.Sanal D’mello

Bro.Antony Thamilakaran

Bro.Antony Praveen


Bro.George Fernandez


Beskilin Sebastine


Elias Stephen Raj

Sujit Ekka

Merinas Joyson M


Bro.Infant Raj

Bro.Raghumani Augustine

Bro.Luie Desouza


Bro.Raj Kumar Ekka

Bro.Solomon Rajan

Bro.Bharath Raja